What does good driver’s workplace do?

Make drivers even better.

Driving a city bus is demanding. Narrow streets, increasingly heavy traffic, complex fare models, and passengers with a broad range of needs: Drivers need to keep on top of everything. Oh, and they also need to be on time. A first-class driver’s workplace must perform at the same level. Ergonomics and comfort make work easier, an intuitive layout and a simple operating concept make driving more productive and safer. Drivers are noticeably less stressed.
The perfect driver’s workplace? The modular driver’s workplace from Continental.



Excellent.

The modular driver’s workplace from Continental.

State-of-the-art technology in an innovative design that blends seamlessly into the design concepts of the latest generation of city buses: The modular driver’s workplace leaves nothing to be desired. With extensive configuration options, this driver’s workplace can be adapted to a wide variety of needs. Intelligence included. And we’re not the only ones excited about this product: The iF Design Award and German Design Award juries are, too. The modular driver’s workplace from Continental is an attractive, flexible, and highly functional workplace that has no equal.

How do you design an innovative driver’s workplace?
modular, modular, modular.

The name says it all: The modular driver’s workplace is... well, you get the idea.

But why modular? In developing our latest driver’s workplace concept, we focused on one thing above all else: the human element. Human beings, whether drivers or fleet operators, are all different and have a wide range of needs. The modular driver’s workplace is designed to accommodate them all. Furthermore, it also fits the requirements of its application, whether it is city, intercity, or tour buses.





Modules and construction.

Freely programmable main display


The core module of the modular driver’s workplace is the freely programmable 12.3-inch TFT color display. This allows HMI designers complete freedom to customize the way all main vehicle and drive functions are displayed. The flexible division of the viewing area, animated 2D and 2.5D graphics, and optional pop-up messages keep the driver up to date at all times, whether the bus is a traditional diesel, hybrid, or electric vehicle. The one-fits-all approach makes it possible to use a single display in every vehicle. Programming is just as efficient: The development environment is the same regardless of vehicle type.

Modules and construction.

Displays and control panels


The other modules are arranged in a honeycomb pattern around the main display – modular, if desired, and no less flexible. Room for two additional displays at the top and two control panels underneath the ventilation modules makes the modular driver’s workplace a highly functional cockpit. Assignment of the displays and controls is just as flexible as using the main display: the electronic components are freely programmable – in the same development environment. This makes it possible to develop consistent and harmonized modules that make the driver’s work easier.

Modules and construction.

Icon kit


A kit with more than eight hundred control icons, extendable with any desired icon design through use of laser technology, with assignable RGB LED color lights and a flexible module arrangement, ensure seamless support of international applications as well as left- and right-hand drives.

Modules and construction.

Ergonomie


No matter the configuration, perfect ergonomics is a given. The cockpit components are connected to one another as a unit and linked to the adjustable steering column. If the driver adjusts the steering column, the entire cockpit moves along with it. The relative positioning of the components to one another, developed according to EBSF and VDV standards, is preserved, ensuring ideal accessibility and operability.

Forward-looking.

On the road to the intelligent driver’s workplace.

The modular driver’s workplace is the perfect foundation for intelligent operating concepts adaptable to any driving situation. With the freely programmable modules, the intelligence of the driver’s workplace is limited by only one thing: your imagination.


Your personally choreographed cockpit.


There are countless interpretations of what the optimal HMI should look like. But there’s one thing everyone agrees on: Intelligent operating concepts can make the driver’s work easier. By providing the right information at the right time and offering adequate operating options, drivers can focus on what’s important. Develop innovative display concepts for driving, a display scenario for the bus stop and another one for break mode. That way you always make the most of the possibilities offered by the modular driver’s workplace. Drivers will love it. Function, safety, and comfort increase in equal measure. The cockpit blends into the vehicle perfectly and enhances the look and feel of the vehicle and transportation company.



Profitable:

For every type of bus.

Developed for city buses, the core of the mDWP shares synergies with other types of buses. Cherry-picking, in this case, is allowed!


Simply the best, always. For city, intercity, and tour buses.


What makes the hardware design of the modular driver’s workplace so special is its modularity. The freely programmable electronic components of the displays and control modules offer virtually complete freedom. Perfect for non-homogeneous fleets!

The components are freely programmable for a particular look and feel. That’s especially beneficial for vehicles where the customized look of the cockpit is important, such as intercity and tour buses.

The display with the electronics unit and the board for the control panel come from Continental, and the individual dashboard body from the vehicle manufacturer. The logic is programmed on the same development platform as the fully housed components of the modular driver’s workplace. The functions and libraries can be shared. This approach significantly reduces the development effort, particularly for mixed vehicle fleets.

The underlying philosophy.

Intelligent solutions like the module driver’s workplace from Continental are no accident. In this video, Mario Tedesco and Michael Glunk explain why.


An ergonomic driver’s workplace looks like this:

Automatic.

The modular driver’s workplace is adjustable to every driver –today manually, in future automatically.




Perfect fit as you climb aboard.


Bus drivers are as different from one another as people in general. Drivers of all shapes and sizes sit behind the wheel of the bus – unlike in a car, which is typically driven by no more than two people. Because a bus driver spends considerably more time on the road, it’s especially important that the seat and steering column can be adjusted for perfect ergonomics. Drivers with comfortable seats and easy-to-reach controls tire less quickly, can concentrate longer, and drive more safely. The design of the modular driver’s workplace revolves completely around driver ergonomics.

The seat and steering column can be adjusted in multiple dimensions. The steering column is directly connected to the display and control units, so overall ergonomics are retained when it is adjusted. The individual elements are always perfectly aligned with the driver.

Even today, drivers frequently adjust the seat and steering column manually. And all too often, the adjustment is not quite right. What better reason to work on automatic adjustment of the bus driver’s workplace? The modular driver’s workplace makes fully automated scenarios feasible. Individual driver profiles will be saved and retrieved at the touch of a button. In addition, cameras can be used to recognize drivers. With an intelligent image processing algorithm, the driver could automatically be recognized before starting his or her shift with the seat and steering column automatically being adjusted to their stored profiles.

Decisions made easy.

Our configurator lets you build your individual modular driver’s workplace with just a few clicks.

Choices abound: Continental has created the mDWP Configurator to take the stress out of building your individual modular driver’s workplace. Let your Continental customer advisor take you through the various options and design the perfect solution for you right on the screen. This short video shows you just how easy it is.

Did we forget something?
Do you have questions?
Please contact us.

+49-7721-67-2731

Wofür ist ein guter Fahrerarbeitsplatz gemacht?

Für noch bessere Fahrer.

Stadtbusse lenken fordert. Enge Straßen, immer dichter werdender Verkehr, komplexe Fahrpreismodelle und Fahrgäste mit unterschiedlichsten Ansprüchen: der Fahrer muss all das meistern. Ach ja, pünktlich sein muss er außerdem. Ein erstklassiger Fahrerarbeitsplatz darf nicht weniger leisten. Ergonomie und Komfort machen die Arbeit leichter, Übersichtlichkeit und ein einfaches Bedienkonzept machen das Fahren produktiver und auch sicherer. Der Fahrer wird spürbar entlastet.
Der perfekte Fahrerarbeitsplatz? Der modulare Fahrerarbeitsplatz von Continental.



Ausgezeichnet.

Der modulare Fahrerarbeitsplatz von Continental.

Modernste Technologie in einem innovativen Design, das sich nahtlos in die Gestaltungskonzepte der neusten Fahrzeuggenerationen von Stadtbussen einfügt: der modulare Fahrerarbeitsplatz lässt keine Wünsche offen. Mit einem Höchstmaß an Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten lässt sich dieser Fahrerarbeitsplatz an die unterschiedlichsten Bedürfnisse anpassen. Intelligenz inklusive. Und nicht nur wir sind von diesem Produkt begeistert. Auch die Jurys des iF Design Award und des German Design Award sind überzeugt: der modulare Fahrerarbeitsplatz von Continental ist ein attraktiver, flexibler und höchst funktionaler Arbeitsplatz, der seinesgleichen sucht.

Wie baut man einen innovativen Fahrerarbeitsplatz?
modular, modular, modular.

Der Name ist Programm: der modulare Fahrerarbeitsplatz ist… Sie wissen schon.

Aber warum ist das so? Bei der Entwicklung unseres aktuellsten Fahrerarbeitsplatzkonzeptes haben wir eins vor allem anderen in den Fokus gestellt: den Menschen. Und der ist von Typ zu Typ sehr unterschiedlich, Fahrer genauso wie Flottenbetreiber. Das Konzept des modularen Fahrerarbeitsplatzes zielt genau darauf ab und lässt sich darüber hinaus sogar noch an die Erfordernisse des Einsatzbereichs anpassen, egal, ob Stadt- oder Überlandverkehr.





Module und Aufbau.

Freiprogrammierbares Zentraldisplay


Das Kernmodul des modularen Fahrerarbeitsplatzes ist ein zentrales freiprogrammierbares 12,3-Zoll-TFT-Farbdisplay. HMI-Designer haben mit diesem Display alle Freiheiten bei der Gestaltung der Anzeigen zentraler Fahrzeug- und Fahrfunktionen. Eine flexible Aufteilung des Anzeigebereichs, animierte 2D- und 2,5D-Grafiken sowie die Möglichkeit von Pop-up Meldungen halten den Fahrer zu jeder Zeit auf dem Laufenden, egal ob im Fahrzeug mit klassischem Dieselantrieb, Hybrid- oder rein elektrischem Fahrzeug. Der One-fits-all-Ansatz macht den Einsatz eines einzigen Displays in jedem Fahrzeug möglich. Die Programmierung erfolgt genauso effizient: in einer einzigen Entwicklungsumgebung, unabhängig vom Fahrzeugtyp.

Module und Aufbau.

Displays und Schalterpanels


Wie Waben gliedern sich die weiteren Module an das zentrale Display an. Modular, auf Wunsch. Und nicht weniger flexibel. Platz für zwei weitere Displays im oberen Bereich und zwei Schalterpanels unterhalb der Lüftungsmodule machen den modularen Fahrerarbeitsplatz zu einer höchst funktionalen Bedienzentrale. Die Belegung der Anzeigen und Schalter ist dabei genauso flexibel wie die Nutzung des Zentraldisplays: die elektronischen Bausteine sind freiprogrammierbar, in der gleichen Entwicklungsumgebung. So lassen sich durchgängig konsistente und aufeinander abgestimmte Module entwickeln, die dem Fahrer das Arbeiten leichter machen.

Module und Aufbau.

Symbolbaukasten


Ein Baukasten von mehr als achthundert Schaltersymbolen, durch Einsatz von Lasertechnologie erweiterbar um jedes individuell gestaltete Symbol, beliebige Farben zur Beleuchtung derselben durch RGB-LED-Technologie und die freie Wahl der Anordnung der Module machen das Konzept auch für internationale Anwendungen problemlos einsetzbar, für Links- genauso wie Rechtslenker.

Module und Aufbau.

Ergonomie


Die perfekte Ergonomie bleibt bei allen Konfigurationen gleichermaßen erhalten. Die Cockpitkomponenten sind als Einheit miteinander verbunden und an die verstellbare Lenksäule gekoppelt. Wird die Lenksäule durch den Fahrer verstellt, wandert das Cockpit als Ganzes mit. Die relative Ausrichtung der Komponenten zueinander, die nach EBSF und VDV Standards entwickelt wurde, bleibt erhalten, die Erreichbarkeit und Bedienbarkeit immer perfekt.

Zukunftsweisend.

Auf dem Weg zum intelligenten Fahrerarbeitsplatz.

Der modulare Fahrerarbeitsplatz ist die perfekte Basis für intelligente, fahrsituationsbezogene Bedienkonzepte. Mit den freiprogrammierbaren Modulen ist der Intelligenz des Fahrerarbeitsplatzes nur noch eine Grenze gesetzt: Ihre Phantasie.


Ihre persönliche Choreografie im Cockpit


Wie das optimale HMI aussieht, darüber gibt es zahlreiche Abhandlungen. Dass intelligente Bedienkonzepte den Fahrer entlasten können, darin sind sich aber alle einig. Die richtige Information zum richtigen Zeitpunkt zur Verfügung zu stellen und adäquate Bedienoptionen anzubieten, lenkt die Konzentration punktgenau auf das Wesentliche. Entwickeln Sie innovative Anzeigekonzepte für den Fahrbetrieb, eine Anzeigedramaturgie für die Haltestelle und eine für den Pausenmodus. So machen Sie zu jeder Zeit das Meiste aus den Möglichkeiten des modularen Fahrerarbeitsplatzes. Die Fahrer werden es lieben. Funktion, Sicherheit und Komfort werden gleichermaßen gesteigert. Die Cockpitanmutung integriert sich harmonisch in das Gesamtfahrzeug und unterstreicht das Erscheinungsbild von Fahrzeug und Verkehrsbetrieb.



Gewinnbringend:

Für jeden Bustyp.

Entwickelt für den Stadtbus, lässt sich das Herzstück des mFAP synergetisch auch für andere Bustypen verwenden. Dabei gilt: Rosinenpicken ist erlaubt!


Einfach immer das Beste. Egal, ob Stadtbus, Überlandbus oder Reisebus.


Modularität zeichnet das Hardwarekonzept des modularen Fahrerarbeitsplatzes aus. Nahezu völlige Freiheit bieten die freiprogrammierbaren Elektronikbausteine der Displays und Schaltermodule. Perfekt für inhomogene Flotten!

Denn die freiprogrammierbaren Bausteine lassen sich auf Wunsch auch hervorragend im eigenen Kleid nutzen. Das bringt entscheidende Vorteile in Bustypen, bei denen das individuelle Erscheinungsbild des Cockpits eine Rolle spielt: im Überland- und im Reisebus.

Das Display mit Elektronikeinheit und die Platine fürs Schalterpanel kommen von Continental, der individuelle Dashboardkörper vom Fahrzeughersteller. Die Logik wird in diesem Fall genauso wie bei der Verwendung der vollständigen, verkleideten Komponenten des modularen Fahrerarbeitsplatzes auf der gleichen Entwicklungsplattform programmiert. Funktionen und Bibliotheken lassen sich gemeinsam nutzen. Gerade bei gemischten Fahrzeugpaletten lassen sich durch diesen Ansatz Entwicklungsaufwände signifikant reduzieren.

Die Philosophie dahinter

Intelligente Lösungen wie der modulare Fahrerarbeitsplatz von Continental sind kein Zufall. Mario Tedesco und Michael Glunk erklären im Video, warum.


So sieht ein ergonomischer Fahrerarbeitsplatz aus:

Automatisch.

Der modulare Fahrerarbeitsplatz stellt sich auf jeden Fahrer ein. Auf Wunsch ganz automatisch.




Einfach einsteigen, und es passt.


Busfahrer sind so unterschiedlich wie die Menschen eben sind. Anders als beim privaten Pkw, der in der Regel von einer, vielleicht zwei Personen gefahren wird, sitzen im Bus schon häufiger unterschiedliche Kolleginnen und Kollegen hinterm Steuer. Weil der Busfahrer aber deutlich mehr Zeit in seinem Fahrzeug verbringt, ist eine ergonomisch optimale Einstellung von Sitz und Lenkrad hier besonders wichtig. Wer besser sitzt und die Bedienelemente leichter erreicht, ermüdet nicht so schnell, bleibt länger konzentriert und fährt sicherer. Das Konzept des modularen Fahrerarbeitsplatzes geht beim Thema Ergonomie voll auf den Fahrer ein.

Sitz und Lenksäule lassen sich mehrdimensional verstellen. Der Clou bei der Lenksäule: durch die direkte Anbindung der Anzeige- und Schaltereinheiten an die Lenksäule bleibt die Gesamtergonomie bei der Verstellung erhalten. Die Elemente sind immer optimal zum Fahrer ausgerichtet.

Heute stellt der Fahrer Sitz und Lenksäule häufig noch manuell ein. Und das leider viel zu oft ungenügend. Ein guter Grund, das Thema automatische Fahrerarbeitsplatzverstellung im Bus zu forcieren. Mit dem modularen Fahrerarbeitsplatz sind auch vollautomatisierte Szenarien denkbar. Individuelle Fahrerprofile lassen sich auf Knopfdruck speichern und wieder abrufen. Aber auch die Fahrererkennung über Insassenkameras ist denkbar. Beginnt der Fahrer seine Schicht, wird er vom Fahrzeug durch einen intelligenten Bildverarbeitungsalgorithmus automatisch erkannt. Sitz und Lenksäule stellen sich vollautomatisch auf das hinterlegte Profil ein.

Leichter entscheiden.

In unserem Konfigurator stellen Sie mit ein paar Mausklicks Ihren individuellen modularen Fahrerarbeitsplatz zusammen.

Wer die Wahl hat, … Damit Sie Ihren individuellen modularen Fahrerarbeitsplatz aus der Vielzahl der Optionen ganz entspannt zusammenstellen können, hat Continental den mFAP Konfigurator entwickelt. Lassen Sie sich von Ihrem Continental Kundenbetreuer durch die Möglichkeiten begleiten und gestalten Sie am Bildschirm die für Sie passende Lösung. Wie einfach das geht, zeigt Ihnen unser kurzes Videobeispiel.

Wir haben etwas vergessen?
Sie haben Fragen?
Dann sprechen Sie uns an.

+49-7721-67-2731